Skype vs Zoom Phone
A comparison people reach for after Skype's retirement, and one that usually ends with the answer that Zoom Phone is not a replacement for it.
vs
Skype was a consumer service and has been withdrawn, with Microsoft ending consumer Skype in May 2026. Zoom Phone is a business telephone system, sold per user per month — the published entry plan is $10 per user per month for a metered US and Canada plan — and it is a licensed seat rather than prepaid credit.
If you are an individual who used Skype to call family abroad, Zoom Phone is the wrong shape entirely: a monthly per-seat licence for a PBX with call routing and extensions, priced for a company. If you are a business that used Skype for Business, it is a reasonable candidate. Those are two different questions and this comparison only answers one of them.
Side by side
Pick what you care about and the differences reorder.
3 of 8 fields differ; 4 are the same.
How to read this comparison
Work down in this order and most comparisons resolve in under a minute. First, can it reach the number you actually need — a service that only calls its own users is not a cheaper version of one that dials a landline, it is a different thing. Second, what are the billing terms: the unit a call is measured in, and whether a fixed fee is added to each one. Third, what happens to money you do not spend.
The per-minute rate is deliberately not the first question here, and it is the only question most comparisons ask. At the same advertised rate, a service that rounds every call up to a whole minute and adds a per-call fee can cost close to double another on the short calls that make up most people's actual usage. The rate is the number that gets compared because it is the number that gets published.
Where they actually differ
Service status
Skype: Withdrawn. Zoom Phone: Operating. A withdrawn consumer service is not a candidate whatever its merits were: accounts stop being sold, unused credit is converted or lapses, and support ends. If you arrived here because the one you used has closed, the comparison worth making is between the services that are still operating.
Connection fee
Skype: Charged. Zoom Phone: None. A connection fee is a fixed amount added to every call regardless of length, which makes it proportionally largest on the short calls a per-minute comparison makes look cheapest. Ten one-minute calls with a five-cent fee cost fifty cents more than the headline implies; one ten-minute call costs five.
Credit expiry
Skype: Expires. Zoom Phone: Never. Expiring credit is a cost that appears in no rate table, and it matters in proportion to how much you top up at once and how irregularly you call. A balance bought for emergencies and left unused is precisely the balance an inactivity rule takes.
Where they are the same
- Calls a phone number: both dials real phone numbers.
- Billing unit: both per minute.
- Subscription: both offers a subscription.
- Account required: both account required.
What each one is
Skype
Skype was a VoIP and messaging application that allowed users to make IP-based voice and video calls, send messages, and place debit-based calls to mobile and landline numbers worldwide until its consumer service retirement in May 2025.
Zoom Phone
Zoom Phone is a cloud‑based business telephony service integrated with Zoom that provides VoIP calling, PBX features, and call routing for business users, including domestic and international calling.
How each one bills you
As published by Skype
- per minute
- $0.049 per call to US/UK/India/Mexico landlines; $0.089 per call to many mobile destinations (Skype Credit, USD, VAT not specified).
- Skype Credit becomes inactive after 180 days without usage but could be reactivated via a dedicated link; Microsoft Q&A notes 180‑day inactivity rule, and users reported expiring balances around the migration to Teams.
As published by Zoom Phone
- per minute for metered outbound calls and for most international destinations.
- none explicitly listed; pricing focuses on per‑minute charges and monthly subscriptions.
- Zoom Phone charges per month for plans; per‑minute charges appear on invoices; no prepaid 'credit expiry' concept for business plans.
- $10/user/month (US & Canada Metered plan).
What each one asks of you
As published by Skype
Users needed to create or sign in with a Microsoft/Skype account; paid calling required adding Skype Credit or an active subscription.
As published by Zoom Phone
Businesses or users must have a Zoom account and purchase Zoom Phone licenses; admins assign numbers and configure calling for users.
Plans, where each one sells them
As published by Skype
Offered Skype Credit as pay‑as‑you‑go, and various monthly subscriptions such as country-specific minute bundles and 'Unlimited World' plans for international calls; existing subscriptions are being converted to credit as Skype is retired.
As published by Zoom Phone
US & Canada Metered at $10/user/month (pay‑as‑you‑go domestic calling), US & Canada Unlimited at $15/user/month (unlimited domestic calls), Global Select at $20/user/month for unlimited domestic calling in one of 40+ countries; additional bundles (e.g. Pro Plus, Business Plus) combine Zoom Phone with Zoom Workplace features.
Published rates
The corridor prices each provider published at the time of the research. An empty list means the provider does not publish its rates outside its own app, which is itself worth knowing before you top up.
Skype
- United States, landline: $0.023/min (Skype Credit, VAT/tax not specified).
- United States, mobile: $0.023/min (Skype Credit, VAT/tax not specified).
- United Kingdom, landline: $0.023/min (Skype Credit, VAT/tax not specified).
- United Kingdom, mobile: $0.100/min (Skype Credit, VAT/tax not specified).
- India, mobile: $0.015/min (Skype Credit, VAT/tax not specified).
- Mexico, mobile: $0.035/min (Skype Credit, VAT/tax not specified).
- Nigeria, mobile: $0.224/min (Skype Credit, VAT/tax not specified).
- Philippines, mobile: $0.168/min (Skype Credit, VAT/tax not specified).
Source, as recorded: www.skaip.org/call-rates/us; www.skaip.org/call-rates/gb; www.skaip.org/call-rates/mx; www.skaip.org/call-rates/in; Zippcall Skype calling rates overview 2025.
Zoom Phone
- United States, landline: From about $0.0242/min on the metered plan for outbound calls; inbound calls are often included.
- United States, mobile: Same metered per‑minute pricing for outbound calls to mobile numbers on the metered plan.
- United Kingdom, landline: International per‑minute rates depend on add‑ons and are documented in Zoom’s rate tables (not visible in snippets); not found here.
Source, as recorded: Third‑party analyses of Zoom Phone pricing summarising Zoom’s published tariff sheets; exact per‑destination rates are in Zoom’s own rate‑card PDFs.
What each one does
Skype
- Offered paid calling from the app to landline and mobile numbers worldwide using Skype Credit or subscriptions.
- Provided free Skype‑to‑Skype voice and video calls over the internet.
- Supported instant messaging, file transfer, and screen sharing alongside calls.
- Available on multiple platforms including mobile apps and desktop clients.
- Offered country‑specific and global flat‑rate subscription plans for frequent international calling.
- Integrated with Microsoft accounts and later migrated paid calling into Microsoft Teams Free with a web dial pad.
- Call rates depended on destination country and number type (mobile vs landline).
- Consumer Skype service is being retired, with end of service set for May 1, 2026, while the dial pad remains via web for paid users.
Zoom Phone
- Cloud PBX with user extensions, direct inward dialing (DID), and call routing.
- Domestic and international calling with metered or unlimited options.
- Integrates with Zoom Meetings and Zoom Workplace for unified communications.
- Supports voicemail, auto‑attendants, ring groups, and call recording.
- Offers add‑ons such as unlimited international calling to select countries and advanced analytics packs.
- Provides clients for desktop and mobile platforms.
- Supports SMS/MMS in supported regions.
- Aimed at business and enterprise customers rather than casual consumer use.
What users complain about
Skype
- User reviews and tech press have long reported dissatisfaction with major UI redesigns of the mobile app, including complaints that the new interface made the app harder to use.
- Criticism over call quality variability, especially on slower or unstable internet connections, appears frequently in third‑party reviews.
- Some users complain about confusion around credit expiry and the 180‑day inactivity rule for Skype Credit.
- Reports of confusion and concern among users about what happens to existing Skype Credit and subscriptions during the announced shutdown and migration to Teams.
Zoom Phone
- Analyst reviews note that advanced call‑centre features and some integrations require multiple add‑ons, raising total cost.
- Metered plan customers can incur additional costs for outbound calls and SMS beyond included allowances.
- Compared with some competitors, reviewers state that international number availability and some automation features are limited at equivalent price points.
About each company
| Founded | 2003 | 2019 (Zoom Phone launched as part of Zoom’s UCaaS expansion; specific launch year referenced in pricing and review histories). |
|---|---|---|
| Headquarters | Luxembourg City, Luxembourg (historical corporate HQ for Skype Technologies). | San Jose, California, United States (Zoom Video Communications). |
| Users | Around 300 million monthly active users across platforms as of 2016–2017 (historical figure). | — |
| Store rating | 4.2 (~700,000+ ratings, aggregated App Store figure). | — |
| Minimum purchase | — | $10/user/month (US & Canada Metered plan). |
Website: Skype Zoom Phone
If neither of them fits
Both of the services above bill per minute or cannot dial a phone at all. If what you need is to call an ordinary number and pay only for the seconds you talk, that is what we publish — and the same nine fields are in the table above, in the first row, marked as ours.
Rates from $0.03 a minute across 41 destinations, billed per second with no connection fee and credit that does not expire.
What Telvio does and does not doSources and dates
Every value on this page is quoted from the provider's own published material, gathered in a structured research pass on 2026-03-18. Where a provider published no answer, the page says so rather than estimating. Nothing here is a review: call quality, reliability and support are not assessed, because they cannot be established from published material.
Bottom line
Consumer Skype is retired. Zoom Phone is a business telephony product licensed per user per month, with a published entry plan of $10 per user per month.
Zoom Phone is a PBX with extensions and call routing, not a prepaid calling app. It is not shaped like a consumer replacement for Skype.
An individual calling family abroad should be comparing prepaid calling apps instead.
Frequently asked questions
Can Skype call a landline or mobile number?
Yes. Skype dials ordinary landline and mobile numbers, so the person you are calling does not need to install anything.
Can Zoom Phone call a landline or mobile number?
Yes. Zoom Phone dials ordinary landline and mobile numbers, so the person you are calling does not need to install anything.
Does Skype charge a connection fee?
Yes. Skype publishes a charge applied to each call on top of the per-minute rate, which costs proportionally most on short calls.
Does Zoom Phone charge a connection fee?
No separate connection fee is published for Zoom Phone, so the cost of a call is the per-minute rate applied to the billed time.
Does unused credit expire on Skype or Zoom Phone?
Credit on Skype expires after a period of inactivity according to its published terms. Credit on Zoom Phone does not expire according to its published terms. Expiry costs most when you top up in large amounts and call infrequently.
Which is cheaper for short calls, Skype or Zoom Phone?
Neither publishes per-country rates in a form that allows a like-for-like table, so the comparison rests on billing terms. Skype bills per minute, Zoom Phone bills per minute. On calls of under a minute the billing unit and any per-call fee change the total more than the headline rate does.
Do Skype and Zoom Phone require an account?
Skype: Account required. Zoom Phone: Account required. Every service in this comparison set except one requires you to identify yourself before you can call.
Which devices do Skype and Zoom Phone run on?
Skype runs on iOS, Android, Web, Windows, macOS. Zoom Phone runs on iOS, Android, Web, Windows, macOS. These are the platforms each provider publishes.
Is Skype still available?
No. Skype has been withdrawn as a consumer service, so it is not something to start using now.