**Rebtel vs Talk360: Established Brand or Simpler App**

> Both dial real numbers per minute with no published connection fee. Talk360 publishes its purchase tiers and reaches 190+ countries; Rebtel has the larger user base.

Source: https://telvio.app/vs/rebtel-vs-talk360/ · updated: 2026-09-04

1. [Home](https://telvio.app/)
2. [Compare apps](https://telvio.app/vs/)
3. Rebtel vs Talk360

Compare apps

# Rebtel vs Talk360

A well-known Swedish brand against a smaller app built around the same idea: call a phone abroad without the recipient needing anything.

vs

**Both dial real telephone numbers, both bill per minute, and neither publishes a separate connection fee.** Neither requires the person you call to have an app, which is the whole point of both.

Rebtel is the larger and older brand — Swedish, founded 2006, citing more than two million users — with a stronger store rating in the research record. Talk360 is smaller, publishes clear in-app purchase tiers of $2.99, $5.99, $12.99 and $23.99, claims coverage of more than 190 countries and more than five million users, and carries a weaker published store rating. Neither publishes a clear credit expiry policy.

## Side by side

Pick what you care about and the differences reorder.

Calling a real phoneWhat it costsWhat they ask of meMy devices Show everything

Rebtel Talk360

Calls a phone number Yes Yes

Billing unit Per minute Per minute

Connection fee None None

Credit expiry Not published Not published

Subscription Yes No

Account required Required Required

Platforms iOS, Android iOS, Android

Service status Operating Operating

1 of 8 fields differ; 5 are the same.

## How to read this comparison

Work down in this order and most comparisons resolve in under a minute. First, can it reach the number you actually need — a service that only calls its own users is not a cheaper version of one that dials a landline, it is a different thing. Second, what are the billing terms: the unit a call is measured in, and whether a fixed fee is added to each one. Third, what happens to money you do not spend.

The per-minute rate is deliberately not the first question here, and it is the only question most comparisons ask. At the same advertised rate, a service that rounds every call up to a whole minute and adds a per-call fee can cost close to double another on the short calls that make up most people's actual usage. The rate is the number that gets compared because it is the number that gets published.

## Where they actually differ

### Subscription

Rebtel: Offers a subscription. Talk360: No subscription. A subscription is cheaper per minute once you pass its break-even point and more expensive in every month you do not, which makes choosing one a bet on your own future behaviour. Prepaid credit is the opposite trade: a worse unit price in exchange for no commitment.

## Where they are the same

- Calls a phone number: both dials real phone numbers.
- Billing unit: both per minute.
- Connection fee: both none.
- Credit expiry: both not published.
- Account required: both account required.

## What each one is

### Rebtel

Rebtel is a mobile app and service that provides low‑cost international calls and mobile top‑ups, using local access numbers or data to connect calls to landlines and mobiles in over 190 countries.

### Talk360

Talk360 is an international calling app that lets users place prepaid VoIP calls from smartphones to mobiles and landlines in 190+ countries, without requiring the receiver to have the app or an internet connection.

## How each one bills you

### As published by Rebtel

- per minute (Rebtel markets one‑minute billing).
- none (Rebtel markets 'no hidden fees' and does not list a separate connection fee).
- Marketing emphasizes no contracts and no hidden fees; public pages do not prominently document a fixed expiry period for purchased calling credit.
- Voice credit/top‑up minimum not clearly stated; some plans sold in fixed price bundles such as unlimited and minute packages.

### As published by Talk360

- per minute.
- none mentioned; rates are quoted per minute without a separate connection fee in published examples.
- Marketing emphasises that users can buy credit 'at any time' and use it as needed with no subscriptions; no fixed expiry period is highlighted in app descriptions.
- In‑app purchase tiers such as $2.99, $5.99, $12.99, and $23.00 credit bundles.

## What each one asks of you

### As published by Rebtel

Users install the app on iOS or Android, create a Rebtel account, and verify with their phone number to start calling or sending top‑ups.

### As published by Talk360

Users download the app, create an account, receive a free test call credit, and then buy calling credit via in‑app purchases or vouchers.

## Plans, where each one sells them

### As published by Rebtel

Offers Unlimited Country plans (e.g. India Unlimited), Global Unlimited, and minutes‑based plans, alongside pay‑per‑minute credit.

### As published by Talk360

Talk360 sells prepaid credit bundles and does not require subscriptions; unused credit is consumed per minute as calls are made.

## Published rates

The corridor prices each provider published at the time of the research. An empty list means the provider does not publish its rates outside its own app, which is itself worth knowing before you top up.

### Rebtel

- **India, mobile:** From about $0.0278/min pay‑as‑you‑go or included in unlimited India subscriptions; exact current per‑minute USD rate varies by plan.

Source, as recorded: Rebtel official rates and India calling explainer pages; detailed per‑country tables are in the in‑app rate lookup and web 'rates' tool.

### Talk360

- **India, mobile:** $0.04/min to mobile and landline numbers according to Google Play description examples; VAT/tax not specified.
- **Mexico, mobile:** $0.04/min to mobiles and landlines as listed among popular destinations.
- **Nigeria, mobile:** $0.13/min to mobiles and $0.20/min to landlines according to Google Play example; VAT/tax not specified.
- **Philippines, mobile:** $0.20/min to mobile numbers and $0.18/min to landlines according to rate examples.

Source, as recorded: Talk360 Google Play description and third‑party product description listing sample per‑minute rates to popular destinations.

## What each one does

### Rebtel

- Places international calls to landlines and mobiles in more than 190 countries.
- Uses local access numbers when available so calls can work without an active data connection.
- Offers unlimited calling subscriptions and destination‑specific minute bundles as well as pay‑as‑you‑go credit.
- Supports mobile top‑ups to international numbers from within the app.
- Markets 'no contracts or hidden fees' and transparent per‑minute pricing.
- Provides apps for iOS and Android; no separate desktop app is promoted.
- Targets migrants and international nomads as primary user segments.
- Calls can be routed over 3G/4G, Wi‑Fi, or local phone lines depending on configuration.

### Talk360

- Lets users call mobile and landline numbers in 196 countries using VoIP.
- Receiver does not need the app or an internet connection.
- No subscription is required; users buy credit bundles as needed.
- Provides a free test call so users can test quality before purchasing.
- Shows per‑destination rates in app and markets low rates to India, Mexico, Nigeria, Philippines, and others.
- Supports mobile top‑ups (airtime/data) to over 160 countries via integrated recharge feature.
- Uses caller’s own number as caller ID for most calls.
- Apps available for Android and iOS.

## What users complain about

### Rebtel

- Some app‑store reviews report occasional call drops and variable call quality, especially on weaker mobile data connections.
- Users have complained about promotional offers or 'unlimited' plans having fair‑usage conditions they found unclear.
- Several reviews mention issues with billing or being charged unexpectedly when local access numbers are treated as chargeable calls by mobile carriers.

### Talk360

- User reviews report occasional one‑way audio and dropped calls to certain destinations.
- Some customers complain that rates changed or were higher than expected for certain premium destinations.
- There are reports of difficulty obtaining refunds for unused credit or resolving account issues via support.

## About each company

| Founded | 2006 (described as a Swedish technology company founded in 2006). | — |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Headquarters | Stockholm, Sweden (company described as Swedish with international operations). | Netherlands / South Africa (Talk360 is often described as a Dutch‑South African company; specific HQ not in consulted snippets). |
| Users | Rebtel cites 'more than 2 million users' on its App Store description. | More than 5 million users worldwide according to App Store description. |
| Store rating | Approximately 4.2–4.6 out of 5 with several hundred thousand reviews, according to Google Play and APK aggregators. | 3.4 (around 10,000+ votes according to Updatestar listing). |
| Minimum purchase | Voice credit/top‑up minimum not clearly stated; some plans sold in fixed price bundles such as unlimited and minute packages. | In‑app purchase tiers such as $2.99, $5.99, $12.99, and $23.00 credit bundles. |

Website:
[Rebtel](https://www.rebtel.com) [Talk360](https://www.talk360.com)

## If neither of them fits

Both of the services above bill per minute or cannot dial a phone at all. If what you need is to call an ordinary number and pay only for the seconds you talk, that is what we publish — and the same nine fields are in the table above, in the first row, marked as ours.

Rates from $0.03 a minute across 41 destinations, billed per second with no connection fee and credit that does not expire.

[What Telvio does and does not do](https://telvio.app/why-telvio/)

## Sources and dates

Every value on this page is quoted from the provider's own published material, gathered in a structured research pass on 2026-03-18. Where a provider published no answer, the page says so rather than estimating. Nothing here is a review: call quality, reliability and support are not assessed, because they cannot be established from published material.

## Bottom line

Both are per-minute prepaid calling apps that dial real numbers, with no published connection fee and no requirement for the recipient to install anything.

Rebtel is the bigger, older brand with the better published store rating. Talk360 publishes its purchase tiers openly and claims 190+ countries.

Neither states a clear credit expiry policy, which is the term to check before buying the largest tier.

## Frequently asked questions

Can Rebtel call a landline or mobile number?

Yes. Rebtel dials ordinary landline and mobile numbers, so the person you are calling does not need to install anything.

Can Talk360 call a landline or mobile number?

Yes. Talk360 dials ordinary landline and mobile numbers, so the person you are calling does not need to install anything.

Does Rebtel charge a connection fee?

No separate connection fee is published for Rebtel, so the cost of a call is the per-minute rate applied to the billed time.

Does Talk360 charge a connection fee?

No separate connection fee is published for Talk360, so the cost of a call is the per-minute rate applied to the billed time.

Does unused credit expire on Rebtel or Talk360?

Credit on Rebtel has no published expiry policy, so it could not be confirmed. Credit on Talk360 has no published expiry policy, so it could not be confirmed. Expiry costs most when you top up in large amounts and call infrequently.

Which is cheaper for short calls, Rebtel or Talk360?

Neither publishes per-country rates in a form that allows a like-for-like table, so the comparison rests on billing terms. Rebtel bills per minute, Talk360 bills per minute. On calls of under a minute the billing unit and any per-call fee change the total more than the headline rate does.

Do Rebtel and Talk360 require an account?

Rebtel: Account required. Talk360: Account required. Every service in this comparison set except one requires you to identify yourself before you can call.

Which devices do Rebtel and Talk360 run on?

Rebtel runs on iOS, Android. Talk360 runs on iOS, Android. These are the platforms each provider publishes.

## Other comparisons

- [Boss Revolution vs Rebtel](https://telvio.app/vs/boss-revolution-vs-rebtel/)
- [KeepCalling vs Rebtel](https://telvio.app/vs/keepcalling-vs-rebtel/)
- [Rebtel vs Yolla](https://telvio.app/vs/rebtel-vs-yolla/)
- [Signal vs WhatsApp](https://telvio.app/vs/signal-vs-whatsapp/)
- [Telegram vs WhatsApp](https://telvio.app/vs/telegram-vs-whatsapp/)
- [Signal vs Telegram](https://telvio.app/vs/signal-vs-telegram/)

[Back to the full matrix &rarr;](https://telvio.app/vs/)

---

HTML version: https://telvio.app/vs/rebtel-vs-talk360/
Structured data for this site: https://telvio.app/api/v1/openapi.json · https://telvio.app/llms.txt
Free to quote and reuse with a link back to the source URL above (CC BY 4.0).
